School of Reading

From the Filipino Readers blog:

We all started reading somewhere, and more often than not, we were influenced by someone. Who got you into reading? Your parents? A friend? A librarian? One teacher who always lends out his/her books? How helpful was your school in helping your reading habit / fueling your book addiction?

There happened to be a lot of books lying around the house since I was a kid. I’ve never seen anyone actually read them but they were just there. Text books, novels, inspirational stuff. My older sister had Mills & Boon and Sweet High Valley High so I read those too. Yeah, I actually did—sifting through the cootie-filled moments with amusement and a lot of cringing. I just wanted to read anything I could get my hands on. Maybe it was some innate passion about learning new words and being an observer in different worlds.

One of the best things about my elementary years was the library which had the latest books found at the bookstore. I volunteered to be librarian’s assistant and had access to the latest books even before they were available to everyone. I enjoyed the Hardy Boys but liked The Three Investigators better. It used bigger words and I had a dictionary by my bedside while reading the series. Judy Blume was funny and the Be An Interplanetary Spy series was engaging with it’s solve-the-puzzle-or-die scenarios.

I was around 10 when I discovered these books at home. They were inside a dusty old box. Firestarter had no cover, only the title of the book. It was only until a few years later that I learned it was written by Stephen King, had a movie version and starred Drew Barrymore. It had a lot of cuss words so I spent the entire summer battling the f-word in my head. My mother loves Peanuts. We had a couple of them from the 70s, or maybe even the 60s. I think only deep people can understand the humour of Charles Schulz. 🙂 The French Lieutenant’s Woman was an adult read! It had these steamy scenes which I never knew books could have. Tim LaHaye’s Temperaments served as my introduction to the world of psychology. At a very young age, it made me understand people and why they do what they do.

My godmother would give me books for my birthday and it always amazed me how she knew which titles to pick. The Choose Your Own Adventure series was awesome. Barbara Parks is my favorite children’s book author with Skinnybones being perhaps the best book I own.

I can’t wait to share these reads (except the PG books I stumbled upon) to my future children. I’m sure it will help them increase their vocabulary and make them more imaginative and creative too.

2 comments

  1. I haven’t even opened my copy of French Lieutenant’s Woman yet! As a kid I wouldn’t have been able to go through it, so congrats. 🙂

    1. Haha. It was a coming-of-age read! Discovered that romance fiction is more dangerous than what men normally consume.

Leave a Reply

