United We Read: The 2nd Filipino ReaderCon

United We Read. What an apt title for an overwhelming event.

It was my first time around local book clubs. Forgive my ignorance, but I never knew such groups existed only until a few weeks ago. Because my day job has been all about behind-the-scenes work all these years,ย I had always hung out with artists, musicians and other creators of art so it was nice to just be on the other side of things and marvel at the wonderful world of Philippine literature and its consumers: The fans. The audience. The critics. The readers.

To all the organizers, authors, nominees, winners, and of course the readers who were part of the event: Bravo! Job well done. I look forward to our next meeting and yes, I do hope to be part of a book club soon.

Now here’s my little contribution to Filipino ReaderCon history: Interviews with some of the winners in the Readers Choice Awards.

9 comments

  1. Yay! So glad you enjoyed the event. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re welcome to join our book club meetings anytime — newbies get a one-time observer pass so you can attend even if you haven’t read the assigned book of the month. ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Hi Tina! Didn’t get to chat with you during the event. You looked busy. Anyway, great job with the Con. One-time observer pass! Sige, sige. Would be fun to visit Intramuros and watch you guys talk about Rizal. Mas boto ako kay Andres e. Hehe. The next book up for review looks interesting. Thanks!

  2. Oh my gosh, Reev, this is a beautiful video! Thank you! One of my regrets for this year’s ReaderCon is that we weren’t able to video the talks, but then here you are with a video of the interviews. This is fantastic!

    And thank you for coming and enjoying the ReaderCon. We hope to see you again next year!

    1. Hello Ms. Honey! Thank you. Blame my broadcasting bloodโ€”can’t stay still. Learning from our very own authors is always priceless. Just had to document. Hope to shake your hand soon!

  3. […] Reev Writes (with a video of the winners for the Filipino Readers’ Choice Awards) […]

  4. Huy Reev! The video shames my vlog attempt. It’s very clean and professional. Wow!

    And it was fun meeting you. See you around! ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Thanks Angus. Truth be told…I got bored just sitting around. Hehe. I think you were the one who handed my Con papers. Sayang, walang akong footage nyo in action. Next time. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I was actually looking out for myself in the video! Anyway, it could’ve been me since I was on the registration team. But yeah, I don’t recall; too many faces. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. […] Reev Robledo interviews some of the winners of the Filipino Readers’ Choice Awards Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. Leave a Comment by Tina on September 3, 2012  •  Permalink Posted in Readers' Choice Awards […]

Leave a Reply

